Among the G20 countries, eleven have recognised Kosovo's independence: Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Saudi Arabia, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States. Eight, however, have not: Argentina, Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, Mexico, Russia and South Africa.
People also ask
What countries didn't recognize Kosovo?
Furthermore, Russia, Greece, Cyprus, Serbia, Spain, and Azerbaijan didn't recognize the independence of Kosovo.
Does China Recognise Kosovo?
Kosovo is not part of the “16+1” cooperation format as China does not recognise Kosovo as an independent state and has no diplomatic relations with it.
Why Spain doesn't recognize Kosovo?
In May 2009 José Manuel García-Margallo, Spanish member of the EU parliament, said that Spain does not recognise Kosovo because of principles related to Spain's Galicia, Basque, and Catalonia autonomous communities.
Why does Greece not recognize Kosovo?
During a September 2012 address to the National Assembly of Serbia, Greek Ambassador to Serbia Dimosthenis Stoidis said that his country would not recognize Kosovo in spite of the fact that the Greek government-debt crisis had been "used in order to pressure Athens to recognize the authorities in Priština".
How many countries have to recognize Kosovo?
Kosovo is now recognized by 117 countries, including the US, Britain, France, and Germany. Israel became the last country to recognize Kosovo's independence in 2021. Serbia, Russia, and China are among the countries that have yet to recognize Kosovo's independence.
Does Russia Recognise Kosovo?
Russian President Vladimir Putin described the recognition of Kosovo's independence by several major world powers as "a terrible precedent, which will de facto blow apart the whole system of international relations, developed not over decades, but over centuries", and that "they have not thought through the results of ...
Not recognizing countries: Algeria, Morocco, DR Congo, Angola, Namibia, South Africa. Why don't African countries recognize Kosovo? Algeria is keeping their ...
Feb 3, 2021 · Then there are the five European Union countries that do not recognise Kosovo: Cyprus, Greece, Romania, Slovakia, Spain. Why?
Countries that Recognize Kosovo 2022 ; Monaco, Yes, 2008-03-19 ; Montenegro, Yes, 2008-10-09 ; Netherlands, Yes, 2008-03-04 ; New Zealand, Yes, 2009-11-11.
Aug 27, 2022 · Serbia, Russia and China are among the countries which have yet to recognize Kosovo's independence. Anadolu Agency website contains only a ...
May 14, 2022 · Kosovo, which is predominantly inhabited by Albanians, broke away from Serbia in 1999 and declared its independence in 2008. Serbia has not ...
Feb 17, 2022 · Serbia refuses to recognize Kosovo or apologize for the atrocities of the 1998-1999 Kosovo War, which only ended after NATO intervened. The ...
A number of countries including the United States, the United Kingdom, Germany, France, Albania, Afghanistan, Australia etc. recognized Kosovo as an ...
Aug 27, 2019 · Serbia's Minister of Foreign Affairs, Ivica Dačić, told Pink television that Kosovo's recognition, declared in 2008, has already been withdrawn ...