United States

Country in North America
The U.S. is a country of 50 states covering a vast swath of North America, with Alaska in the northwest and Hawaii extending the nation’s presence into the Pacific Ocean. Major Atlantic Coast cities are New York, a global finance and culture center, and capital Washington, DC. Midwestern metropolis Chicago is known for influential architecture and on the west coast, Los Angeles' Hollywood is famed for filmmaking.
The United States of America (USA), commonly known as the United States (U.S. or US) or America, is a country mostly located in central North America, ... List of states and territories · History of the United States · Federal Government Calling code: +1 Official languages: None at federal level Date format: mm/dd/yyyy; yyyy-mm-dd Largest city: New York City; 40°43′N 74°00′W / 40.717°N 74.000°W
USA TODAY delivers current local and national news, sports, entertainment, finance, technology, and more through award-winning journalism, photos, videos  ... News · Sports · USA TODAY crossword · World

People also ask

Are there 50 or 52 states in the United States?
The United States of America is a federal republic consisting of 50 states, a federal district (Washington, D.C., the capital city of the United States), five major territories, and various minor islands.
What are the 52 states in the US?

States and Territories

Alabama, Alaska, American Samoa, Arizona, Arkansas.
California, Colorado, Connecticut.
Delaware, District of Columbia.
Georgia, Guam.
Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa.
Kansas, Kentucky.
Guide to Law Online: U.S. States and Territories | Law Library of ... > law > help > guide > states
What is the full name of USA?
Congress renames the nation “United States of America” On September 9, 1776, the Continental Congress formally declares the name of the new nation to be the “United States” of America. This replaced the term “United Colonies,” which had been in general use.
How many countries are in USA?
The United States of America (USA), commonly known as the United States (U.S. or US) or America, is a country mostly located in central North America, between Canada and Mexico. It consists of 50 states, a federal district, five major self-governing territories, and various possessions.
Have a question about the USA? Learn where to find answers to the most requested facts about the United States of America.
Jul 23, 2020 · White House · · Office of the Inspector General · Archives · Contact Us · Privacy Policy · Accessibility Statement · Copyright Information ...
USA State, Total Cases, New Cases, Total Deaths, New Deaths, Active Cases, Tot Cases/ 1M pop, Deaths/ 1M pop, Total Tests, Tests/ 1M pop, Source ...
VisitTheUSA is the USA official guide for traveling the United States of America. Discover here all the information you need for your American holidays.
Britain's American colonies broke with the mother country in 1776 and were recognized as the new nation of the United States of America following the Treaty of ...
Brand USA works in close partnership with the travel industry to maximize the economic and social benefits of travel. These benefits include fostering ...